Author Topic: Frustrated in Philly  (Read 26786 times)

captainjack0528

• View Profile
    • Email
Frustrated in Philly
« on: April 19, 2012, 03:38:00 PM »
Hi, I am new to this, and have tried low-carb before, but a long time ago.  I am 3 1/2 weeks into my new lifestyle, and have lost a grand total of 3 pounds!  I know sometimes it takes a while for one's body to adjust and get to burning its own fat, but I did not think it would take this long to see more results.  I do not drink alcohol, only drink seltzer water, have nothing but meats and greens, and even refrained from the sweets entirely along with the rye bread at Easter!

I guess my question is how long is too long for this to start kicking in?  I am committed to losing weight, so I will modify to all greens if I have to, but I do like the overall eating choices I have with access to the meats I love.  Help! :o

mouseissue

• Global Moderator
  • Low Carb for Long Life!
    • View Profile
Re: Frustrated in Philly
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 04:32:19 PM »
Welcome to the family, captainjack0528!!! :) :) :) :) :) :)

No two of us are alike.
Therefore, some of us start losing weight (by the scale) almost right away.
While others may go a number of weeks before the loss shows on the scale.

During weight loss, a lot of things are going on in our bodies that do not show on the scale.
Our size is one of them.

Did you take measurements BEFORE you started FTS?
It's very likely that you've started losing size.

So if you've read Doug's book and are following the simple rules of FTS, you should be losing FAT.
Some of your clothes should start feeling a bit looser by now.
If not, you may be eating too much or are eating more carbs than you think.

So that we can help you most, please post what you're eating (& how much) in our "Meal Plans" area.
Here; http://www.fattoskinny.net/index.php?board=32.0

If there is a problem, I'm confident we'll figure out the solution. :)

Tony
What you do today is what matters!